To see if your vehicle meets the standard, use our vehicle checker.

Or see which locations fall within the ULEZ zone with our postcode checker.

If you drive a vehicle that doesn't meet the ULEZ standards within the central London area and the daily charge is not paid, a Penalty Charge Notice (PCN) will be issued to the registered keeper. This penalty is in addition to any Congestion Charge or Low Emission Zone penalties received.

From 25 October 2021, ULEZ is expanding from central London to create a single, larger zone up to the North Circular Road (A406) and South Circular Road (A205). The North and South Circular roads themselves are not in the zone. Find out how to prepare for the ULEZ expansion.

What are the standards?

We would prefer that you use a vehicle that meets the emissions standards rather than pay a daily charge.

Euro standards - which first appeared in 1992 - are a range of emissions controls that set limits for air polluting nitrogen oxides (NOx) and particulate matter (PM) from engines. New vehicles and road vehicle engines must show that they meet these limits to be approved for sale.

The ULEZ standards for existing central London ULEZ and when the zone expands are:

  • Euro 3 for motorcycles, mopeds, motorised tricycles and quadricycles (L category)
  • Euro 4 (NOx) for petrol cars, vans, minibuses and other specialist vehicles
  • Euro 6 (NOx and PM) for diesel cars, vans and minibuses and other specialist vehicles
  • Euro VI (NOx and PM) for lorries, buses and coaches and other specialist heavy vehicles (NOx and PM)

Euro 3 became mandatory for all new motorcycles in 2007

Euro 4 became mandatory for all new cars in 2005 and light vans in 2006

Euro 6 became mandatory for all new heavy duty engines for goods vehicles and buses from January 2014, September 2015 for cars and light vans, and September 2016 for larger vans up to and including 3.5 tonnes gross vehicle weight.

Find out more about ULEZ emission standards, daily charges and penalty charges, plus information on how to avoid having to pay the charge for:

Your vehicle registration document (also known as the V5C) will help identify your vehicle's Euro emission standard. For newer vehicles, the Euro emission standard may be listed on the V5C in section D.2.

ULEZ and air quality

Improving air quality in London is vital and requires ongoing action. Air pollution can harm our lungs and worsen chronic illnesses, such as asthma, lung and heart disease. We still need to do more to improve air quality in the longer term.

Here's why:

  • Road traffic emissions are the biggest cause of poor air quality
  • Since April 2019, ULEZ has helped reduce the number of polluting vehicles in central London by 17,400 every day
  • Together with a greener bus fleet operating within central London, has helped reduce air pollution by more than 40%

Read more about air quality in London.

Questions about ULEZ?

If you need more advice about the ULEZ, you can make an enquiry.