London Loop latest

Taking the 150 mile (242km) London LOOP is a great way to get to know London better. Made up of 24, mostly flat or gently sloping sections, it combines beautiful open spaces like Hainault Forest Country Park and Bushy Park with historic buildings (Hall Place and Black Jack's Lock & Mill).


The London LOOP is signposted with different signs in different areas. Look out for:

  • A white disc displaying a directional arrow, a blue flying kestrel and green text - these are mounted on wooden posts in country areas. (Please look carefully at the white disc logos. The direction might not be clear until you're close up)
  • A larger, aluminium sign featuring a walking man symbol - these are strapped to lamp posts (and other street furniture) in urban areas
  • The word link - this is incorporated into the large, aluminium signage on link routes to stations
  • A tall, green and white signpost - these appear at major focal points and will tell you the distances to three points in either direction

Maps and guidance

Detailed walk guidance for all sections - including maps - is on the Ramblers 'Walking the LOOP' web page.

Or follow the route on the Go Jauntly app:

Section 1: Erith to Old Bexley

Section 2: Old Bexley to Petts Wood

Section 3: Petts Wood to West Wickham Common

Section 4: West Wickham Common to Hamsey Green

Section 5: Hamsey Green to Couldson South

Section 6: Couldson South to Banstead Downs

Section 7: Banstead Downs to Ewell

Section 8: Ewell to Kingston Bridge

Section 9: Kingston Bridge to Hatton Cross

Section 10: Hatton Cross to Hayes & Harlington

Section 11: Hayes & Harlington to Uxbridge

Section 12: Uxbridge to Harefield West

Section 13: Harefield West to Moor Park

Section 14: Moor Park to Hatch End

Section 15: Hatch End to Elstree

Section 16a: Elstree to Cockfosters (part a)

Section 16b: Elstree to Cockfosters (part b)

Section 17: Cockfosters to Enfield Lock

Section 18: Enfield Lock to Chingford

Section 19: Chingford to Chigwell

Section 20: Chigwell to Havering-atte Bower

Section 21: Havering-atte-Bower to Harold Wood

Section 22: Harold Wood to Upminster Bridge

Section 23: Upminster Bridge to Rainham

Section 24: Rainham to Purfleet


Completed this walk? Why not download the certificate to celebrate.