Sir Gulam Noon MBE appointed to TfL Board

17 March 2004

Commenting on the appointment, Mayor of London and TfL Board Chair, Ken Livingstone, said:

'Sir Gulam Noon's extensive business experience, his representation on many community focused boards and his role as a leading member of London's Asian community will make a significant contribution to the TfL board's strategic effectiveness. I am sure he will do an excellent job of representing Londoners' interests.'

Sir Gulam joined the TfL Board as of 1 March 2004.

The other members of the TfL Board are:

  • Ken Livingstone (TfL Chair), Mayor of London
  • Dave Wetzel (TfL Vice Chair), Transport for London
  • Professor David Begg, Chair Commission for Integrated Transport
  • Bob Crow, General Secretary of the Rail Maritime and Transport Union
  • Professor Stephen Glaister, Professor of Transport & Infrastructure, Imperial College, London
  • Kirsten Hearn, Freelance Consultant
  • Mike Hodgkinson, Chairman of Post Office Ltd
  • Oli Jackson, Retired
  • Susan Kramer, former Liberal Democrat candidate for Mayor of London
  • Paul Moore, Lay Official of the Communication Workers Union
  • Murziline Parchment, Policy Director in the Mayor's Office
  • David Quarmby, Chairman of Sea Britain 2005 Steering Group at the National Maritime Museum, Greenwich and Deputy Chair, SRA
  • Tony West, Retired

Special Advisors to the TfL Board:

  • Bryan Heiser
  • Lynn Sloman
  • The TfL Board is appointed by the Mayor of London
  • According to the Greater London Authority Act (1999), the TfL Board should consist of a minimum of eight members, including the Chair, and a maximum of 15. The appointment of Sir Gulam Noon takes the number of TfL Board members to 13.