Westway works

  • At weekends, the road will be closed in one direction only
  • During peak hours, Monday to Friday, the Westway will remain open in both directions but will be limited to two lanes of traffic
  • The A40 Westway, the diversion route and local roads will be busier than usual - expect delays to your journey

Find out more about the A40 Westway works.

Driving

Weekend closures are either

  • 22:00 on Friday evening to 05:00 on Monday morning or
  • Overnight from 22:00 on Saturday evening to 08:00 on Sunday morning

Alternative routes

Heading into London

Instead of using the A40 Westway to travel into London from the west consider using the A4 and M4 or the  A406.

Heading out of London

Instead of using the A40 Westway to travel out of London from east London, use other routes, including the A406. We expect the A501, all local routes and the official diversion to be busy.

Local destinations

Local roads are likely to be much busier. If you are making a short trip, it's likely to be quicker and easier on foot, by cycle or by the tube.

Walking

Footpaths and pedestrian crossings will remain open wherever possible, although there may be some temporary closures or diversions. There will be signs to safely guide you through the works area.

Shops and businesses in the area will be open throughout the works, and walking and cycling access will be maintained.

Use our travel tools

Check before you travel and plan ahead using our travel tools. Keep up-to-date with the latest service information.

  • The TfL Go app has interactive maps, live arrival times and other travel information
  • Journey Planner can help you plan your route by public transport, cycling or walking
  • See the latest status updates for roads in the area
  • Nearby, uses your current location or a postcode or address of your choice and places you on a map, showing you Tube, bus, river, London Overground, DLR, TfL Rail and Santander Cycles locations around you
  • Check our email updates

Weekend closure dates

Eastbound closures

These closures are planned for autumn and winter 2021 and January-March 2022.

Date from Time closed Date to Time open
Friday 26 November 22:00 Monday 29 November 05:00
Friday 3 December  22:00 Monday 6 December  05:00
Friday 10 December  22:00 Monday 13 December  05:00
Saturday 8 January  22:00 Sunday 9 January  08:00
Saturday 15 January  22:00 Sunday 16 January  08:00
Saturday 22 January  22:00 Sunday 23 January  08:00
Friday 28 January  22:00 Monday 31 January  05:00
Saturday 5 February  22:00 Sunday 6 February  08:00
Friday 11 February  22:00 Monday 14 February  05:00
Friday 18 February  22:00 Monday 21 February  05:00
Friday 25 February  22:00 Monday 28 February  05:00
Friday 4 March  22:00 Monday 7 March  05:00
Friday 11 March  22:00 Monday 14 March  05:00
Friday 18 March  22:00 Monday 21 March  05:00

Westbound closures

These closures are all planned for 2022.

Closure start date Start time Closure end date End time
Friday 11 March  22:00 Monday 14 March 05:00
Friday 18 March  22:00 Monday 21 March 05:00
Friday 25 March 22:00 Monday 28 March 05:00
Saturday 2 April  22:00 Sunday 3 April 08:00
Saturday 9 April  22:00 Sunday 10 April 08:00
Saturday 23 April 22:00 Sunday 24 April 08:00
Friday 6 May 22:00 Monday 9 May 05:00
Saturday 14 May 22:00 Sunday 15 May 08:00
Friday 20 May 22:00 Monday 23 May 05:00
Friday 10 June 22:00 Monday 13 June 05:00
Friday 17 June 22:00 Monday 20 June 05:00
Friday 24 June 22:00 Monday 27 June 05:00
Friday 1 July 22:00 Monday 4 July 05:00
Friday 8 July 22:00 Monday 11 July 05:00
Friday 15 July 22:00 Monday 18 July 05:00